Women’s Beanpot 40th Anniversary Team Announced

  • Date

The oldest women’s ice hockey tournament in North America is about to turn 40. College hockey’s Women’s Beanpot Tournament will unfold for the 40th time when teams from Boston College, Boston University, Harvard University and Northeastern University take the ice on Tuesday, February 6, at Boston College’s Conte Forum. In conjunction with the milestone event, representatives from the four schools have selected a Women’s Beanpot 40th Anniversary Team. It is a starry group filled with All Americans, Olympians, and simply college players who stepped up in Beanpot play.

Northeastern, winners of 16 of the 39 tournaments played to date, leads the way, with nine players among the 25 players recognized. Harvard, second with 14 championships, has eight honorees. BC and BU, with eight titles* between them, have five and two all-stars, respectively.

Jennifer Botterill, Harvard ‘03, and Tina Cardinale Beauchemin, NU ‘89, have been named Honorary Captains of the squad. Botterill, twice a Patty Kazmaier winner (2001 and 2003) and Canadian Olympian, is the tournament’s career scoring leader. She won four Beanpots while at Harvard, is the only three-time MVP and became a Beanpot Hall of Famer in 2008. Cardinale Beauchemin led Northeastern to four Beanpots as well, earning MVP honors in 1988 and being inducted into the Beanpot HOF in 2016. Among the other honorees are current UNH head coach Hilary Witt, NU ‘01; current U.S. Olympian Kendall Coyne, NU ‘16; twotime MVP Cheryl Tate, Harvard ‘84; three-time Bertagna Goaltending Award winner and U.S. Olympian Molly Schaus, BC ‘11; and Lisa Whitcomb Huckins, MVP of BU’s only title in 1981.

Named to the position of Honorary Coach is Don MacLeod, head coach at Northeastern from 1981-92, where he won the Beanpot eight times in eight consecutive seasons.

The honorees will be recognzied between games of the first night of this year’s tournament. The schedule:

40th Annual Women’s Beanpot Tournament

(All games at Boston College’s Conte Forum)
Tuesday, February 6
5:00 p.m. Harvard vs. Boston University
8:00 p.m. Boston College vs. Northeastern

Tuesday, February 13
4:30 p.m. Consolation Game
7:30 p.m. Championship Game

40th Anniversary All-Women’s Beanpot Team


Kelly Dyer Hayes, Northeastern ‘90 (HOF ‘13; 4 Beanpots)
Molly Schaus, Boston College ‘11 (Bertagna Award ‘07, ‘09, ‘11; 3 Beanpots)
Cheryl Tate, Harvard ‘84 (MVP ‘82, ‘83; HOF ‘09; 2 Beanpots)
Lisa Whitcomb Huckins, Boston University ‘81 (MVP ‘81; HOF ‘09; 1 Beanpot)


Jennifer Botterill, Harvard ‘03 (MVP ‘03, ‘02, ‘01; 4 Beanpots)
Tina Cardinale Beauchemin, Northeastern ‘89 (MVP ‘88; HOF ‘16; 4 Beanpots)
Julie Chu, Harvard ‘07 (HOF ‘13; 2 Beanpots)
Nicole Corriero, Harvard ‘05 (MVP ‘05; HOF ‘12; 4 Beanpots)
Kendall Coyne, Northeastern ‘16 (MVP ‘13; 2 Beanpots)
Meghan Fardelmann, Boston College ‘09 (MVP ‘07; HOF ‘17; 3 Beanpots)
Deb Gautreau Parece, Boston University ‘83 (HOF ‘10; 1 Beanpot)
Shelley Looney, Northeastern ‘95 (MVP ‘94; 2 Beanpots)
Fiona Rice, Northeastern ‘90 (MVP ‘87; 4 Beanpots)
Tammy Shewchuk Dryden, Harvard (HOF ‘10; 2 Beanpots)
Deb Spillane, Boston College ‘08 (MVP ‘06; HOF ‘14; 2 Beanpots)
Kelli Stack, Boston College ‘11 (MVP ‘09; 3 Beanpots)
Jill Toney, Northeastern ‘86 (HOF ‘14; 3 Beanpots)
Sarah Vaillancourt, Harvard ‘09 (HOF ‘15; 1 Beanpot)
Hilary Witt, Northeastern ‘01 (HOF ‘10; All-Time W Beanpot Assists Leader)


Nina Koyama, Northeastern ‘89 (MVP ‘86; 4 Beanpots)
Donna-Lynn Rosa, Northeastern ‘90 (4 Beanpots)
Carroll McCaffrey Willa, Boston College ‘99 (HOF ‘12)
Angela Ruggiero, Harvard ‘05 (MVP ‘04; HOF ‘16)
Liza Ryabkina, Harvard ‘10 (MVP ‘10; 2 Beanpots)
Maggie Taverna, Boston College ‘09 (HOF ‘16; 3 Beanpots)

Head Coach

Don MacLeod, Northeastern (1981-1992; 8 Beanpots)


Jennifer Botterill, Harvard ‘03 (Only 3-Time MVP; HOF ‘08; 4 Beanpots)
Tina Cardinale Beauchemin, Northeastern ‘89 (MVP ‘88; HOF ‘16; 4 Beanpots)